Barack Obama Wins Emmy After 2 Grammys

Barack Obama emmy

Barack Obama wins Emmy

Barack Obama who is an American politician who served as the 44th president of the United States from 2009 to 2017. Barack Obama has won the best narrator Emmy Award for his work on the Netflix documentary series, Our Great National Parks, which premiered on Netflix in April on Saturday.

The show Our Great National Parks is a five-part Netflix documentary on some of the world’s national parks and their wildlife produced by The Obamas’ production company Higher Ground and first lady Michelle Obama’s production company.

Many famous Nominees were there for the award at Saturday night’s Creative Arts Emmys, including Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (Black Patriots: Heroes of the Civil War), Lupita Nyong’o (Serengeti II), David Attenborough (The Mating Game), and W. Kamau Bell (We Need to Talk About Cosby).

Barack Obama is the second president to earn an Emmy. In 1956, Dwight D. Eisenhower 34th president of the United States from 1953 to 1961 was also given a special Emmy Award.

Barack Obama also received a Grammy awards for his audiobook reading of two of his memoirs, “The Audacity of Hope” and “A Promised Land.” Michelle Obama won her own Grammy for reading her audiobook in 2020.

Before that, Barack Obama won awards for his memoirs ‘Dreams from My Father’ in 2006, and ‘The Audacity of Hope’ in 2008. Both the Grammys were won by Obama before 2009 being elected as the President.

Read: Mary Peltola wins Alaska over Sarah Palin, a Special Election

Chadwick Boseman wins Emmy

The late Chadwick Boseman, who died in 2020 due to colon cancer at age 43, also won an Emmy for his voice in “Black Panther” Character for outstanding character voiceover in the Disney+ and Marvel Studios animated show “What If…?” on Saturday.

Chadwick Boseman’s wife Taylor Simone Ledward picked up his first Emmy award, and after two years after he died

What If…? is an animated series that launched on Disney+ in August 2021.

He was able to beat nominees including Jessica Walter, who also recently died, for her role in Archer, Moon Knight’s F. Murray Abraham, Big Mouth’s Maya Rudolph, Bridgerton’s Julie Andrews, Central Park’s Stanley Tucci, and Boseman’s What If…? colleague Jeffrey Wright.

Read: Donald Trump’s lawyers to face Justice Department in court over special master request

Till now, 17 people have earned EGOT. EGOT means a entertainers special category who have won an Emmy, a Grammy, an Oscar, and a Tony.

Thanks for reading

Share on:

Leave a Comment